IFT members appointed food safety committee

Source of Article:  http://www.ift.org/news_bin/news/news_home.shtml

1/23/2009-The Institute of Medicine (IOM) and the National Research Council have established an ad hoc committee to undertake a study to examine gaps in public health protection provided by the farm-to-table food safety system under the purview of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and identify opportunities to fill those gaps. The study will address the recommendations of the Nov. 2007 FDA Food Protection Plan by evaluating the plan and identifying gaps and opportunities (recommendations) to fill the gaps. The committee’s consensus report will include legislative, regulatory, and administrative recommendations and estimates of costs of such recommendations, as feasible. The IOM project, entitled Review of the Food and Drug Administration's Role in Ensuring Safe Food, currently has 12 committee members, four of which are IFT members. The IFT members on the committee are:

• Douglas L. Archer, Univ. of Florida
is a professional member of the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) and serves on the Board of Directors of that organization. Archer is currently a member of the IFT Global Policy and Regulations Committee and is the subject expert for that committee on food hygiene.
• Robert E. Brackett, Grocery Manufacturers Association
He is a professional member of the IFT.
• Martha E. Rhodes Roberts, State of Florida
is a professional member of the IFT, and serves on the Public Policy & Regulatory Outreach Advisory Panel and the Fruit and Vegetable Products Division.
• Lee-Ann Jaykus, North Carolina State Univ.
She is a professional member of the IFT, and serves on the Food Microbiology Division.

IOM committee information

Committee members



Main Page

setstats            Copyright (C) All rights reserved under FoodHACCP.com

            If you have any comments, please  send your email to info@foodhaccp.com